Random News: Charles de Lint & YA

A great interview with fantasy writer and YA writer Charles de Lint appeared today. Here’s a quote from it:

“I don’t write differently for different age groups,” he says. “In fact, I never even thought I was writing Young Adult stories until I was approached by Viking. They wanted to do a collection of my Young Adult short stories. And I told them I didn’t have any Young Adults stories and didn’t have time to write any.

“They said, `Well, you already have.’ And they pulled out a list of all the stories I’d written with younger protagonists.

“So that’s kind of the way I look at it now. It’s the age of the characters that defines the genre.”

To read more of the story, visit here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

