Angie’s Randoms: Dreaming Big and Splotchy Sweats

This week, we’re talking about where we see ourselves in 5 years. I’ve always been of the mindset that there is no point in dreaming if you don’t dream big. So here are my dreams of the future.

1) To have at least four books out. I’d like to be a consistent seller, and considering my first book won’t be out until 2010, that puts me at 4 books instead of 5. Right now, I’m half way to my goal, with one slated for 2010 and the second for 2011!

2) To be comfortable with public speaking. I get a case of the splotchy sweats whenever I think about reading from my book in public. I know I’ll have to do it to promote EVERLASTING, and in five years I hope I’m comfortable enough to read without worrying I’m going to break out in hives or sweat through my shirt.

3) To have a recognizable name. A fellow author once told me not to worry over the people who will pass up my book-signing booth at ALA in order to line up at Libba Bray’s or Melissa Marr’s. It’s not because my book bites; it’s because their names are better known. In 5 years, I’d like to have the recognizable name and the long line at my booth.

4) To have more confidence. In myself, in my writing, in my ability to captivate a reader/editor/agent. I’d like to believe as I’m writing a new novel that there is absolutely no chance I’m going to be the only one who enjoys reading it.

5) To have a blog people love. A friend of mine just posted on her blog an ARC giveaway contest for her book being released this summer. Within hours, there were over 60 comments from people dying to read her book. I would love to have responses like that! (by the way, her name is Cindy Pon, and her book SILVER PHOENIX looks amazing!)

~AF

1 Comment

Filed under Angie's Randoms

One response to “Angie’s Randoms: Dreaming Big and Splotchy Sweats

  1. Amanda Marrone

    I get the splotchy sweats, too–and red face!

Leave a Reply

