Robin’s Randoms: A Book for Every Age

There are many excellent books for kids, so I’ll have no trouble finding them this holiday season.  It’s the narrowing down that’s hard.

1) For the very young:  Tom and Pippo by Helen Oxenbury. I love this series for the very young.  I get a warm and cozy feeling whenever I see these books.  My boys learned to read these short little gems.  Words that describe these books:  gentle, warm, sweet, funny, loving.

2) For the early reader:  Frog and Toad and Owl at Home, both by Arnold Lobel.
The books are early chapter books, but they are also full of wise truths that resonate for any age reader.  I LOVE these tiny stories.

3) For the middle grade reader:  Frindle and The School Story both by Andrew Clements. Both these books capture the middle grade feel.  They are easy to read and have a great pace.

4) For the YA reader: (Oh, this is hard.  I’m not feeling good about choosing one or two for any of these categories, so don’t hold me to any of these.)  I like A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly for historical YA, and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson for contemporary.

5) For teens who are writers:  On Writing by Stephen King. He tells it straight and throws in a few swears.  On audio it sounds even better.  There is even the story of his childhood and the story of his accident as book ends.

~R.M.M.

3 Comments

Filed under Robin's Randoms

3 responses to “Robin’s Randoms: A Book for Every Age

  1. Amanda Marrone

    We loved the Tom and Pippo books when the kids were little and I still get teary whenever I read Frindle, I love that book.

  2. I love how both you and Angie included ON WRITING. I so, so, SO concur.

    And I wholeheartedly agree with Frog and Toad. Sigh. The adventures we used to have…

    -Susan

  3. Amanda Marrone

    I love On Writing, too! I think my favorite Frog and Toad story is the one where the ice cream melts all over one of them so they look like a monster and scare a bunch of forest creatures.

Leave a Reply

