Susan’s Randoms: Thankful for the Tinies in Life

The week, the Randoms focus on what we’re thankful for as writers. I’m usually the one at the Thanksgiving Day table, hoping I can go last so I can think of something pithy, but I’ve realized since the birth of The Little One that every tiny thing needs our thanks; those little things add up.

1) I’m thankful that my daughter is a sound sleeper from 7 p.m. until 6:30 a.m. so that I can write during these hours. And, yes, sometimes I’ve been known to write up until 6 a.m., I’m so thankful for this time to fully concentrate on my make-believe worlds.

2) I’m thankful that my brain loves make-believe worlds, make-believe people, and make-believe in general. I actually have The Little One pretend that her blocks are a phone or a kennel or a house or, in most cases, the Leaning Tower of Pisa. The grandparents think I’m nuts, but I call it saving money on toys.

3) I’m thankful that The Little One seems to have inherited part of my make-believe abilities. A cardboard box acts as her grocery cart, her slide, her car, her hat, her chair, her counter as she leans over it to poop in her diaper…

4) I’m thankful that I get to work from home. I can’t totally support myself with my books (yet), so I also teach online research writing classes at the college level. I’m very thankful for getting paid while I work in PJs and while the The Little One plays with her blocks a few feet away.

5) I’m thankful to read that Americans may not be buying big-ticket items (cars, houses, furniture), but they are still buying small ticket items (books, books, books!). The theory is that people like to indulge every once in a while, but instead of a speedboat they can’t afford, it’s the latest Stephen King/Susan Colebank/Robin MacCready/Amanda Marrone book. (Soon, Angie, soon!)

~S.C.

Leave a comment

Filed under Susan's Randoms

Leave a Reply

