Susan’s Randoms: Why’d I Pick It?

This week, The Randoms are discussing the five must-read YA or teen books bending their nightstands or screeching to be released from their Amazon cart (am I the only one who has almost 400 books in my queue?).

1) Long May She Reign, by Ellen Emerson White. I’m actually 340+ pages in right now. But it’s been languishing on top of my must-read pile since May. It’s the sequel to Long Live the Queen, written almost two decades ago, and for anyone who fell in love with Meg Powers and her will to survive will love catching up with her in this book; for those who sadly don’t know Meg, she’s a ballsy eighteen-year-old who’s the president’s daughter and is trying to get over the nightmares and injuries from being kidnapped and left for dead six months ago (in book time).

2) Gregor the Overlander, by Suzanne Collins. Before she wrote The Hunger Games, she wrote/is writing this series. Why’d I pick it up? Because a boy finds an “Underland” via the laundry room in his New York apartment building. I love that stuff!

3) Al Capone Does My Shirts, by Gennifer Choldenko. Why’d I pick it up? Because it’s 1935 and a twelve-year-old named Moose has moved to Alcatraz–yeah, THAT Alcatraz, when there was a prison AND civilians living there.

4) A Summer to Die, by Lois Lowry. Why’d I pick this up? Um, cuz it’s a classic. But now that I’m a mom, and after being horribly damaged by Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, it’s on the backburner for now. Why? It’s about a sister dying. At least I think so, based on the title and back cover. Again, I’m too afraid to read on.

5) The Penderwicks, by Jeanne Birdsall. Why’d I pick this up? A lovely neighbor loaned it to me, like, 11 months ago. I know, I know. Shame on me for depriving my 12-year-old neighbor from re-reading, what she has called, “her favorite book.” It reminds me of Anne of Green Gables meets Little Women. And I loved both those books. But those are sort of “soft” books, with soft problems. I like me some tense problems right now (in my fiction, people, so don’t get any ideas).

~S.C.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

