Angie’s Randoms: Music as Inspiration

I’m jealous of writers who can listen to their iPod while writing. For me, it’s impossible. The lyrics of the music get entangled with the words in my head, and I can’t get anything done. My musical inspiration comes while I’m still trying to process my story and characters in daydreams and long stretches of staring out the window. For those times, I lean toward instrumental music and movie soundtracks, with a few exceptions.

1) Last of the Mohicans. There’s a romantic feel to many of these songs, and the historical feel to them helps me dip into many of my projects that are set in the past. Most of them are, so this CD has been used A LOT.

2) Gladiator. Not only is this movie among my husband’s (and my!) favorites, it also has one of the best soundtracks out there. I remember leaving the drive-in movie theater after watching it for the first time, listening to the music streaming out of the car speakers, and thinking “I have GOT to get that CD.” It is extremely helpful to work out a lot of my action/high-tension scenes.

3) Cider House Rules. If you didn’t like this movie, there’s something wrong with you. If you can’t feel the music, your case is hopeless. OK, I’m being harsh, but really, these songs are like needles pricking my creative side. And they just make me happy.

4) Falling Slowly, Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova.
From the movie soundtrack ONCE, this song is heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. Possible? Yes. Besides…I’m secretly in love with Glen Hansard.

5) Dreams, by The Cranberries. A longtime favorite, this song has often been used as the Ireland travel and tourism theme song. Whenever I’m questioning whether or not to continue with a project, or if I am any good at writing at all, this song can put me back in place and boost my confidence. Something writers need a lot.

~A.F.

3 Comments

Filed under Angie's Randoms

3 responses to “Angie’s Randoms: Music as Inspiration

  1. Amanda Marrone

    I was glad I’m on sabatical this week–I absolutely cannot listen to music and write–I can’t listen and think about writing. The joys of being wired differently. I love Dreams, though!

  2. Robin

    Angie,

    I want to get all those soundtracks NOW. It would be cool to see how differently each of us is inspired by the same music. (Did that make sense? A little?)
    I have the Cranberries song. It’s a favorite:-)

  3. I so love soundtracks, and I can’t believe I forgot my infatuation with Last of the Mohicans (soundtrack/movie/Daniel Day Lewis, Daniel Day Lewis, Daniel Day Lewis). Thank you for the reminder.

    Here are my faves if they’re not in your rotation:
    Sense and Sensibility
    Emma
    The Piano
    And for my stressed-out days, The Matrix (nothing a little Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson can’t cure)

    -Susan

Leave a Reply

