Robin’s Randoms: Tapping Into My Inner Teen Angstiness

I love music, and when I was writing my first book and I discovered that I was playing the same songs over and over while I wrote, I thought I was being lame.  My teenage son did also, but then I found out that lots of writers do this and they make playlists out of those songs and it’s cool.  Here are my top five from my writing career.

1) MURDER OF ONE by Counting Crows:
It was THE song I played when I needed to get in touch with Claudine instantly.  The story isn’t absolutely spot on, but the emotion is there.  “It’s such shame, shame, shame…”

2) LANDSLIDE by Fleetwood Mac:
This is what I listen to when I am feeling my age and can’t find my inner teen and I have to find her in order to write my current teen novel.  This song, in particular, sums up my whole teenage angstiness.   “I’ve been afraid of changing ‘cuz I’ve built my live around you…”

3) LED ZEPPELIN by Led Zeppelin:
One song from my youth sometimes isn’t enough to get me in the groove—and sometimes it gets me feeling so groovy that I play my whole boxed set of Led Zep and rock the keyboards all day and all night.  Okay, not really, but it helps set the tone.  “Hey, hey, mama, said the way you move, gonna make you sweat gonna make you groove…”

4) ONE MAN WRECKING MACHINE by Guster: This song makes me think of my current mc’s dad and takes me to the setting.  It gives me some compassion for him, which he needs because he is a total wrecking machine.  “I want to pull it apart and put it back together.  I want to relive all my adolescent dreams…”

5) EVERYTHING by Michael Buble: This song is also on my current playlist because it’s sappy, sweet, and sums up how my mc feels/felt about her father and how she thought he felt about her mother and her mother.  It has that light and frothy feel and juxtaposed against the truth it jolts me every time it plays after One Man Wrecking Machine.  “Whatever comes our way, ah we’ll see it through,  And you know that’s what our love can do.”  Ah, I don’t think so, buddy.

~R.M.M.

3 Comments

Filed under Robin's Randoms

3 responses to “Robin’s Randoms: Tapping Into My Inner Teen Angstiness

  1. Amanda Marrone

    I LOVE landslide. I remember discovering the Dixie Chick’s version and playing it over and over again!

  2. Robin

    Mmmm, that’s a good cover of Landslide. It’s such a perfect snapshot of head over heels, crazy love–and the realization that maybe THAT love isn’t all it’s cracked up to be… I remember listening to that song and being jolted by the words. Waaaaah!

  3. Amanda Marrone

    Yeah, jolted is a good word for listening to that song!

Leave a Reply

