Susan’s Randoms: Why Revisions Are Making Me Go Deaf

This week, I had to consult my iTunes playlist to discuss this week’s topic: the songs that inspire us as we write/rewrite/or just be an author. Since I was into rewrites this week (the book’s due next Monday!!), this was what was on heavy, INSANE rotation (we’re talking 100 times in a row for six hours) on my iTunes:

1) Mother We Just Can’t Get Enough, by The New Radicals. Okay, you know that movie A Walk to Remember? (Don’t even tell me you like YA books and you haven’t seen this one–you are a traitor to our kind, otherwise.) Anyway, this music plays during some of the romantic moments of the movie, and when I needed my girl Reg and her guy Gabe to have a moment–tense or romantic or otherwise–I’d put this one on.

2) Edward Scissorhands Main Title, by The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. As my girl Reggie’s life was building and building (love, fun, etc.), I played this music for its sense of, I guess, expectation. As if there was all this potential in Reggie’s life, and my fingers were trying to tap it out as fast as I could.

3) Hedwig’s Theme, by John Williams (from one of those Harry Potter movies). I played it for the same reason as I did Edward Scissorhands–because Reggie is part Edward, part Harry. I kid, I kid!! No, it was for that sense of wonder and, again, expectation that surrounded Reggie’s character at the time.

4) Chasing Pavements, by Adele. I heard this on So You Think You Can Dance! a few months back, and yes, I bought into the product placement and bought it for 99 cents. But it’s so good! It establishes such a great mood when you’re writing a character who is having doubts and is sort of going slow mo at that pivotal, life-changing moment where she might or might not take the leap into her 180-degree character arc.

5) I’m Good, I’m Gone (Black Kids Remix), by Lykke Li. This was a great upbeat song to have blaring into my eardrums at 2 a.m. in the morning, once the Dunkin Donuts Hazelnut coffee (which I’ve been buying by the pound) wore off.

~S.C.

2 Comments

Filed under Susan's Randoms

2 responses to “Susan’s Randoms: Why Revisions Are Making Me Go Deaf

  1. Amanda Marrone

    I’m really behind the times–the only song I recognized is Hedwig’s Theme. That’s what I get for listening to show tunes 98% of the time. Sweeney Todd is my new obsession–and while I was thinking I was glad I wasn’t blogging this week because I don’t listen to, or relate music to what I’m writing, Sweeney Todd does have the dark atmospheric mood I’m hoping to capture with certain scenes from Devoured.

  2. I must confess, I still have to get up the guts to watch Sweeney Todd.

    My favorite showtunes CD is The Sound of Music. Always has, always will be (in terms of loving EVERY single song).

    -S.

Leave a Reply

