Robin’s Randoms: Must-Reads I’ve Read

These days I haven’t liked everything I’ve read, except for The Lightning Thief, which I won’t gush over again after today.  I dug into my archives and found a few favorites.  My bookshelf is piled with must-read-books that are waiting for me.  Soon, someday soon.

1) Troy by Adele Geras: This is the story of Troy from the point of view of the women, specifically two sisters.  Marpessa is gifted with God-sight and is handmaiden to Helen, and Xanthe tends to the wounded soldiers in the Blood Room.  This book is so impressive.  Troy was a finalist for the Whitbread and won a Horn Book Honor in 2001.

2) Friction by E.R. Frank: I thought the author got the uneven relationship between the two girls just right.  A new girl who dares to do it all fascinates the main character…  This book may be why I’m having a hard time with a manuscript about an unbalanced friendship—in fact, I put it away six months ago.

3) Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr:
I loved this urban fantasy.  It was not as wordy as some fantasies, yet she gave me enough to draw me into her world.  I want more of this world.  Is there more?

4) The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson: I usually don’t like any story set in the future.  It makes me uneasy and I can’t focus on the story.  I never enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time, and couldn’t stick with Feed.  I KNOW!!  This book may be the one that sends me back to Feed for a second try.  I don’t want to give anything away, but I will say that I loved the main character and that’s what kept me reading.

5) A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly:
This is a mystery, historical fiction, and coming of age novel all at once.  The gentle main character and the historical setting sucked me in.  I was transported back in time and I didn’t want to leave.  I loved it!  I wish I’d written it…

~R.M.M.

Leave a comment

Filed under Robin's Randoms

Leave a Reply

