Susan’s Randoms: Holding Out for a Hero

Just thinking about that Bonnie Tyler song gives me a cheap thrill. This week, we talk about what we like to see in a hero.

1) I like an alpha with beta qualities. I like my heroes to be able to carry the heroine when she faints or shoot the bad guy in the face with no qualms. But I also like a guy who can quote The Breakfast Club or a good Heathers line (like the book Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist).

2) I like a guy who is a good listener and a great problem-solver. He’s a great shoulder to cry on, a warm hug to lean into, a nice pair of lips to forget your troubles with.

3) I like Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice), I like Edward Cullen (Twilight), I like Stan Crandall (Fifteen), I like Tarzan (from Edgar Rice Burroughs’ book and as the Johnny Weismuller character), I like Col. Christopher Brandon (Alan Rickman’s character in Sense and Sensibility), I like the gigolo from The Wedding Date, I like Bill Pullman’s character from While You Were Sleeping, I like Judd Nelson from The Breakfast Club, I like Aidan AND Mr. Big. What do they all share? They all seem to have a good mix of alpha/beta qualities.

4) I like my current hero, Gabe, because he has a big secret. And hero just isn’t a hero without a great secret.

5) Another thing about Gabe? He’s an alpha and a beta AND he looks like Judd Nelson from The Breakfast Club. Ahhhh… my hero comes full circle.

4 Comments

Filed under Susan's Randoms

4 responses to “Susan’s Randoms: Holding Out for a Hero

  1. I agree with so many of these! I definitely love it when a hero has a Big Secret, one that might shatter the heroine’s image of him or ruin their chances of love forever–man that just sounded like the back of a romance novel 🙂

  2. Gosh! Yes, yes, yes; Mr. Darcy, Col. Brandon, and Bill Pullman in While You Were Sleeping. YES!

  3. Maggie

    Eeep! I am not Ronald Reagan, whoopsie!

    p.s. I love Mr. Darcy so much, that I’ve a tattoo of Pemberley on my wrist.

  4. Ang–I definitely love secrets. My heroine and hero have both gotta have ’em.

    Maggie/Dear. Ms. President–You are so brave, oh tattooed one. I still regret the second piercing in my ears. :o)

    -S.

Leave a Reply

