Susan’s Randoms: Me, Five Words, & The Teen-Age Years

One of our Randoms, Amanda, came up with a great topic this week: Five words to describe us as teenagers.

1) Over-booked. I played three sports (volleyball, basketball, and tennis), was part of about ten clubs, took around five honors classes per semester, read the morning announcements, volunteered in the lunchroom, was a Biology TA, etc. I remember going to bed at 2 a.m. and waking up at 6 a.m. most days.

2) Energetic. I’d have to be in order to subsist on four hours of sleep (see above).

3) Daydreamer. I dreamed about being a fashion designer. I’d doodle and doodle and doodle. Then I went to NYC and interned at a fashion magazine. That dream got popped by the harsh sting of reality.

4) Exchange-Student. (A girl can hyphenate if she wants to.) I went to Sweden for a year after watching an episode of Life Goes On. (Kelly Martin was in it. And Corky. C’mon, you gotta remember Corky.) Anyway, I remember watching an episode where Kelly’s character turns down going to Paris for a year because she didn’t want to leave her boyfriend. Can I say “Yeckkkkkk!”??? I remember turning to my mom and saying “What an idiot.” And that, my dear readers, is how I ended up being an exchange student.

5) Teenage Republican. It’s a phrase, I know, but it’s a big part of who I was. I wasn’t a Republican, but I wanted to learn about the political process. Plus, the guy who’d been the president Teenage Republicans was cuuuuuute. (I think he went on to lobby in D.C.) I ended up registering as a Republican for almost 10 years just so I could “thank” the Republicans for that scholarship I got senior year. Of course, I never voted Republican, but that’s between me and the ballot box.

~S.C.

7 Comments

Filed under Susan's Randoms

7 responses to “Susan’s Randoms: Me, Five Words, & The Teen-Age Years

  1. Wow, exchange student! I would have loved to have done that. As a teen though, I wasn’t brave enough to leave home for such a long period of time. And I think I remember that episode of Life Goes On! I loved Corky 🙂

  2. Amanda Marrone

    I spent a summer in France being an au pair–um, I was beyond homesick the entire time and have the embarassingly angsty journal to prove it. (note to self–burn journal!)

    I was pretty isolated though, we spent much of the summer in the country side. The family owned an grand chateau the grandmother lived in, and several houses, one of which I stayed in–the rest of the village worked on the family’s farm. I mopped floors with towels, ironed sheets and underwear, washed dishes in a double sink with a deer carcass in one side, and got hit on by some fifty year old visiting. Very scary when your seventeen!

    I loved my five days in France staying in Paris with my step-father’s cousin, though.

  3. So I’m here for Amanda’s Revealers contest, although I hope it doesn’t matter witch post I comment on….

    We had exchange students when I was in high school and we had a lot of fun. In fact, it’s 15 years later and my mother is planning on visiting one of our old students (she’s a sister still) in Argentina for spring break this year. I didn’t get a chance to do it, but I did spend a couple of months in Mexico studying abroad for college.

  4. Angie: It was either be an exchange student or a page for the U.S. Senate. I didn’t think I loved politics enough to wear a uniform and run around D.C.

    Amanda: I had MAJOR homesickness. I wish I hadn’t, though, so I could’ve enjoyed Sweden more. But I loved my host parents, and the kids were nice (including a boy named Olaf who, I found out on my last day there, had had a crush on me!!). The only thing I hated was living on a mountain that I had to climb everyday to get back home. Oh yeah, and the Angolan refugee who started following me until the high school talked to him.

    Jackie: When I got back from Sweden, I made sure to befriend the exchange students at school. I definitely knew that they could use a friend.

    -Susan

  5. Cindy K

    here for the Revealers contest. witch!

  6. Oooo, oooo, WITCH!! I want two entries too 🙂

  7. Witch, witch, witch!!!

    :o) Susan

Leave a Reply

