Robin’s Randoms: Gardening, Burping, and Dwelling

When it’s transition time, my mind wanders from thing to thing as I try to get my bearings.  As a teacher with over twenty years of experience, you’d think I’d be able to make the switch to classroom life with my eyes closed, but it’s the same panic every year.

1) I don’t want to leave my son, my dog, my husband, my house, and my garden…  Waaaaah! They all need me, don’t they?

2) Did I forget how to teach over the summer? What if I get in the front of the class and do something stupid, like burp out loud?

3) I need to make appointments for the eye doctor, dentist, my son’s physical, and his orthodontist, too.

4) Oh, darn, I never had that craft day with my friends, or that kayak trip, or finished my mass mailing for the paperback. Maybe there’s still time.  Maybe.

5) I thought my book would be sold by now…
I’m a little sad and don’t want to dwell on that, so I think I’ll just freak out about other stuff, like laundry, unfinished painting, school shopping…

~R.M.M.

3 Comments

Filed under Robin's Randoms

3 responses to “Robin’s Randoms: Gardening, Burping, and Dwelling

  1. Robin,

    It’s okay–I thought my second book would have revision notes by now, but it’s been six months so far. I see this as a time to really think about the story…and think about it and think about it. In fact, I believe I’m officially “stewing” about it.

    And don’t worry about the burping–that’s not even cringe-worthy considering the big stuff out there. My biggest fear was having a hole on the seat of my pants or an ineffective sanitary napkin… I should stop, shouldn’t I?

    Have a great school year!
    Susan

  2. Amanda Marrone

    Ha! If you burped the kids would love it! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your book two.

  3. Robin

    Aw, gee…:-)

    I guess my angst really came across even in my few words this weeks.

    I’m still at it, BTW. I’m going on a camping trip on an island, though, then I’ll spend the actual Labor Day laboring in the classroom.

    R.M.M.

Leave a Reply

