Susan’s Randoms: The 5 Reasons You Should Love, Love, LOVE Synopses

I love writing the synopsis. Love. It. It’s the easiest part of writing a book. Three pages? That’s 750 words. I write birthday cards that are longer than that! I owe my background in advertising and journalism for this love-love relationship. Plus, I have had nary a rejection based on a synopsis. Out of the 50 or so queries w/synopsis I’ve sent out in my lifetime, I think I’ve only had one rejection.

If you’re feeling a little hatred right now, it’s perfectly normal. Work through it and read on as I tell you how my background in advertising and journalism can help you hone your own “dreaded” synopsis:

1) If Campbell’s has “Soup is Good Food,” and beef has “It’s What’s for Dinner,” then your synopsis should have it’s own memorable tagline. For me, it’s the plot question. In my synopsis for Black Tuesday, I wrote: What happens if you’re a straight-A student with Ivy League dreams and you accidentally kill another human being? It’s memorable, to the point, and shows the agent/editor you’re querying that you know what the heck your story is about. (You’d be surprised how many three-page synopses are out there that need a good dose of Adderall.)

2) As a former journalist, I ruthlessly self-edit anything that doesn’t underscore the point of my story. The synopsis should be focusing on the crux of the story, not why the grandpa likes red shoes or the cat gets sick. Now, if the grandpa liking red shoes makes your character go out and buy a pair for his 70th birthday and ends up being the store’s millionth customer and they win a billion dollars–okay, include it. Need a better analogy? Think about Pretty Woman for a second. The synopsis should be about Vivian and Edward–that’s it. The roommate with the drug habit, the women who deny service to Vivian at the dress shop, and the cute jockey who flirts with Vivian at the horse races aren’t necessary.

3) As a journalist, I wouldn’t have sold anything–nada, zilch–if I pitched an article with the lackluster enthusiasm I see in most people’s synopses. We’re writing fiction, people, and our synopses sound like a really bad textbook. Don’t lose your enthusiasm for the story just because you have to summarize it. Think about a movie you loved and telling a friend about it. Did you suddenly sound like the most boring person on earth as you told them about it? NO! You loved the movie, and it showed. Show the same love to your synopsis that you did for those 300+ pages you just wrote.

4) Let a synopsis help keep you honest when it comes to what you want to accomplish with your characters. As Robin said, it can help you see your story arc in one nice, concise, three-page summary. It can also help you see if you are making your character go through that 180-degree arc she/he needs to experience. Is the spoiled princess an empathetic humanitarian at the end? Is the serious overachiever a light-hearted plain-ol-achiever by the end?

5) I never write a synopsis last, and it seems to work for me. I can understand why people hate writing a synopsis–I would hate to have to sum up 300 pages in three pages! That’s why I write it before I even write the story. It works as my outline at the beginning. Then, after I’ve written the story, I go back and tweak the parts that didn’t play out–the broken leg or the best friend’s binge-and-purge–and there I go. Synopsis accomplished!

~S.C.

7 Comments

Filed under Susan's Randoms

7 responses to “Susan’s Randoms: The 5 Reasons You Should Love, Love, LOVE Synopses

  1. Shelley Coriell

    Synopses have always been necessary evils for me. But your comment where you liken the process to telling a friend about a movie you love is a gem! I guess the question I need to ask myself is what about my story do I LOVE and then convey that in the synop. Oooo…I dig blogs with take-away value. Thanks!

    Shelley Coriell
    Big, Edgy Romantic Suspense
    2008 & 2007 Golden Heart Finalist
    http://www.shelleycoriell.com

  2. You’re welcome, m’dear.

    Yeah, the movie analogy really works for me. I mean, we got into writing because we’re trying to write a better story than we’ve read/seen so far, no?

    -S.

  3. I’m with Shelley Coriell. Synopses are necessary evils, but I’ve tried to turn them into a positive experience by thinking of them as a very long book jacket blurb. If I only had eight seconds to catch a reader’s (or editor’s or agent’s) attention, what would I write about my book? This is my PR background coming out, but I truly believe these busy people can only give us about eight to ten seconds before tossing us into the ’round file’. They have 200 submissions waiting on their desk, and they don’t make enough money to work three hours of overtime every day to get through everything. So the synopsis is a do or die piece that can help make or break a career. With that in mind, why not give it your all?

  4. birthday cards that are personlized are the best in my opinion, they really come from the bottom of the heart of the sender,:.

  5. Outstanding post, I believe website owners should acquire a lot from this blog its very user pleasant. So much good info on here :D.

  6. Very well written information. It will be useful to everyone who employess it, as well as myself. Keep up the good work – looking forward to more posts.

  7. This article is actually a nice one it assists new net users, who are wishing
    in favor of blogging.

Leave a Reply

